Young Academics

Structured Doctoral Studies

The BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg can look back on many years of experience in international structured doctoral training. There are a number of PhD programs, in particular the International Graduate School (IGS), the second funding phase of which (2010-2013) ends on the 31/12/2013.

The university is currently faced with the task of continuing the work initiated by the BTU Cottbus with regards to the establishment of a Graduate Research School. The aim is to build on existing structures and experience and develop these even further.

In November 2013, an international graduate school, approved by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and entitled 'Cultural and Technical Values ​​of Historic Buildings' was established within the Institute for Building and Art History at the Faculty of Architecture, Civil Engineering and Urban Planning in collaboration with other partner organizations and with the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg as the lead institution.

International Graduate School

With the international graduate school, the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg offers an internationally structured programme of research, which was established back in 2007.

Funding: Funds available from the State of Brandenburg
Funding period: First Phase 2007-2009, second Phase 2010-12, extended until 31.12.2013
Current Structure: 6 graduate business classes, 4 Junior Research Groups

Junior Research Groups

The Utilization of Turbulent Bénard Rayleigh- and Taylor-CouettePipe flows in Nature and technologyDr. rer. nat. Nicoleta Herzog
E E-Mail scurtu(at)
Anthropogenic Landscape change and Palaeo-environmental ResearchDr. Alexandra Raab
E E-Mail raab.alex(at)
Hybrid Systems Dr. rer. nat. Nico Tauchnitz
E E-Mail tauchnitz(at)
Functional Layer Systems Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dieter Schmeißer
E E-Mail dsch(at)
Image-based detection methods for medical diagnostics (multiplex bead assays)
PhD Programme Environmental and Resource Management  (Head of Programme: Prof. Michael Schmidt)
PhD-Programm Dependable Systems  (Head of Programme: Prof. Heinrich Theodor Vierhaus)
PhD-Programm Heritage Studies (Head of Programme: Prof. Maria-Theresia Albert)
Dr. rer. nat. Claudia Liebsch
E E-Mail claudia.liebsch(at)
Prof. Dr. med vet. habil. Peter Schierack
E E-Mail peter.schierack(at)
Image-based Detection Methods for Medical Diagnostics (Image-based assays)Dr. Stefan Rödiger
E E-Mail stefan.roediger(at)
Prof. Dr. med. vet. habil. Peter Schierack
E E-Mail peter.schierack(at)


The University currently offers three PhD programmes:

PhD Environmental and Resource Management programme  (Head: Prof. Michael Schmidt)
PhD Dependable Systems programme  (Director: Prof. Heinrich Theodor Vierhaus)
PhD Heritage Studies programme (Head: Prof. Maria-Theresia Albert)


Further information, in particular on course content, advice offers and application guidelines can be found on the pages of the International Academic Office of the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg.



Graduate Funding according to the Graduate Funding Regulation of Brandenburg (gradV)

Based on the gradV, the state of Brandenburg annually makes PhD scholarships available to universities. Graduates with a university degree and excellent academic achievement can apply at any time for the scholarship if they meet the entrance requirements.


Application form (Erklärung für ein Promotionsstipendium)

For information on relevant funding opportunities at the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg, see the Department of Research/Technology Transfer.

Christa Müller
T +45 (0) 355 / 69 2053
E E-Mail christa.mueller(at)