Facts and figures

The Brandenburg University of Technology (BTU) is a campus university with three sites: the Cottbus Central Campus, the Cottbus-Sachsendorf Campus and the Senftenberg Campus.


Approximately 7,000 students are enrolled at the BTU of which 2,350 come from abroad.China, India, Syria, Iran and Nigeria represent the biggest country groups of the more than 100 different nations.

180 professors (including guest, junior and deputy professors) • 640 academic employees of which 303 are financed by third party funds • 678 non-academic employees of which 55 are financed by third party funds, 16 are trainees (figures in the full-time equivalent, updated 31.12.2019, rounded to the nearest figure)

Budget funds 2019 (basic allocation of state funds): approx. 93 million euros

Third party funding revenue 2019: approx. 33.9 million euros


The BTU has six faculties.

Campus size

Cottbus Central Campus: land area approx. 300,000 m² • main useable area approx. 82,000 m²
Senftenberg Campus: land area 87,191 m² • main useable area 22,964 m²
Cottbus-Sachsendorf Campus: land area 63,966 m² • main useable area 13,767 m²

This website uses cookies. There are two types of cookies: The first type supports the basic functionality of our website. The second allows us to improve our content for you by saving and analyzing pseudonymised user data. Since this second type is technically not required to run the website, you can withdraw your consent to those cookies at any time. For more information please visit our pages on data protection.


These cookies are needed for a smooth operation of our website.


For statistical reasons, we use the platform Matomo to analyse the user flow with the help of website users‘ pseudonymised data. This allows us to optimize website content.

Name Purpose Lifetime Type Provider
_pk_id Used to store a few details about the user such as the unique visitor ID. 13 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Used to store the attribution information, the referrer initially used to visit the website. 6 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Short lived cookie used to temporarily store data for the visit. 30 minutes HTML Matomo