Former staff member

  • Andrea Oestreich (Meteorologist, 1993 - May 1995: Cloud Climatology at Mt. Brocken
  • Stefan Naumann (Meteorologist), 1993 - May 1996: Modelling of Backtrajectories for Cloud Transport
  • Dr. Peter Heinrich (Chemist, Bochum), 1993 - December 1995: Lab studies on Levitated Particles
  • Birgit Drabow (Secretary) 1995-2002
  • Dr. Xiahong Liu (Geophysicist, Peking), May 1995 - April 1996: Modelling of Cloud Physics; now at the University of Michigan, Dep. of Atmos., Oceanic & Space Sci.
  • Stefan Dominka (Meteorologist), February 1997 - May 1998: Chemical Sensitivity Studies
  • Dr. Xiangshan Tian-Kunze (Geophysicist), October 1996 - July 2000: Sub-cloud scavenging of sulfer dioxid (DFG-project)
  • Prof. Patrick Rairoux (Physicist), 1998 - August 2001: Cavity Down Ringing (DBU-project)
  • Dr. Rolf Fabian (Physicist), 1996 - October 2001: LIDAR remote sensing
  • Dr. Uta Maritta Biermann (Chemist), 1999 - October 2001 : climatology of H2O2
  • Bernhard Koch (Chemist),  February 1999 - December 2001: Cavity-Downringing Spectroscopy
  • Dr. Hans-Jörg Prümke (Chemist),  September 1997 - March 2002: Analytic chemistry of VOCs
  • Jinsheng Feng (Chemist),  January 2001 - January 2003: Analytic chemistry of macromolecular substance with doctor’s degree 2003; now at BIT (Beijing Institute of Technology)
  • Dr. Renate Auel (Chemist),  1995 - June 2006: Analytic chemistry
  • Dr. Günther Mauersberger (Mathematician),  1995 - November 2006: Modelling of physico-chemical processes in the atmosphere
  • Dr. Eng. Mohammad Mehrjouei (Chemist) 2008 - August 2014: photocatalysis, doctor thesis defense in May 2012,
  • Dr. Karin Acker, 1995 - April 2014, experimental work in sampling and analysis of trace components in the atmospheric gas, liquid and particle phase, with cloud chemical process studies within numerous international and national field experiments, preparation of cloud climatologic data sets as well with work in the field of quality assurance
  • Dr. Siegfried Gantert, 2008 - Januray 2015, alternative techniques in carbon capture and storage (CCS)
  • Dr. Eng. Haijing Wang (Chemist), April 2012 - December 2015: Determination method and soil emission behavior of crude oil volatile organic and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, doctor thesis defense in May 2015
  • Dr. Wolfgang Lutz (Chemist) 2010 - 1014: zeolite research
  • Ali Mahyar (Chemist), Phd-student, June 2012 - October 2016 (doctor thesis defense will be in October 2016)
  • Kosar Hikmat Hama Aziz (Chemist), Exchange PhD-student, November 2014 - September 2016
  • Yousif Mustafa Salih (Chemist), Exchange PhD-student, November 2014 - September 2016
  • Jürgen Hofmeister (Technician), 1995 - October 2017
  • Dieter Kalass (Engineer), 1995 - June 2018

This website uses cookies. There are two types of cookies: The first type supports the basic functionality of our website. The second allows us to improve our content for you by saving and analyzing pseudonymised user data. Since this second type is technically not required to run the website, you can withdraw your consent to those cookies at any time. For more information please visit our pages on data protection.


These cookies are needed for a smooth operation of our website.


For statistical reasons, we use the platform Matomo to analyse the user flow with the help of website users‘ pseudonymised data. This allows us to optimize website content.

Name Purpose Lifetime Type Provider
_pk_id Used to store a few details about the user such as the unique visitor ID. 13 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Used to store the attribution information, the referrer initially used to visit the website. 6 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Short lived cookie used to temporarily store data for the visit. 30 minutes HTML Matomo