University Technology Centre (UTC)

The Rolls-Royce Group began building the network with the establishment of the first UTC in 1990 to pool research activities at selected universities and research centres - initially in the UK - and then progressively worldwide.
Each UTC or research centre represents cutting-edge research in engineering fields. The agreements are of a long-term nature and serve in particular to promote technology development and transfer as well as the mutual exchange of scientists. The cooperation goes far beyond the usual scope of pure project work and allows the institutions exclusive access to services and information.
In addition to the UK, UTCs and/or research centres exist in Germany, Italy, Saudi Arabia, USA, Korea and Singapore.
In 2005, the BTU became the first university in Germany to join this exclusive, worldwide network.
For more information, please visit the Rolls-Royce plc website (

This website uses cookies. Those have two functions: On the one hand they are providing basic functionality for this website. On the other hand they allow us to improve our content for you by saving and analyzing anonymized user data. You can redraw your consent to using these cookies at any time. Find more information regarding cookies on our Data Protection Declaration and regarding us on the Imprint.


These cookies are needed for a smooth operation of our website.


Name Purpose Lifetime Type Provider
_pk_id Used to store a few details about the user such as the unique visitor ID. 13 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Used to store the attribution information, the referrer initially used to visit the website. 6 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Short lived cookie used to temporarily store data for the visit. 30 minutes HTML Matomo