Research Stays at Partner Universities

As a doctoral student at BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg, you have access to our network of partner universities worldwide for research stays. For more information please visit the webpages of the International Relations Office.

ERASMUS+ Doctoral and Staff Exchange

For doctoral students enrolled in the PhD Programme ERM / Heritage Studies as well as for academic staff, we offer research stays for up to 12 months at our partner Universitat de Barcelona within the following PhD Programmes at Barcelona:

Ecology, Environmental Sciences and Plant Physiology

Society and Culture: History, Anthropology, Art and Heritage

Research stays and staff exchange is funded within the ERASMUS+ Programme by the European Union.

There are two application deadlines per year: May 15 and October 15.

For more information kindly contact the PhD Programme coordinator.

Cotutelle Doctorate with Deakin University Melbourne

As of 2021, newly admitted PhD students in Heritage Studies (in their first year after being admitted) have the option to apply for a binational doctorate with our partner Deakin University if certain conditions are met (e.g. agreement of BTU supervisor, research topic fits into Deakin´s profile, the candidate meets Deakin´s requirements for PhD candidates and we are able to find a supervisor at Deakin). The same applies to Deakin´s PhD students wishing to do a binational doctorate at BTU.

Under a binational doctorate (Cotutelle), PhD students are jointly supervised by at least two professors (one from each partner university). At least one third of the candidature is spent at the partner university. After submitting and successfully defending one single PhD thesis, each partner confers their own doctoral degree certificate which is only valid in conjunction with the other degree certificate. Hence, this is not a double degree but a joint degree. All details will be set up in a Student Agreement, to be signed by the candidate, the supervisors and the respective authorities of both partner universities.

Contact at BTU: Dr. Birte Seffert

Conact at Deakin: A/Prof. Steven Cooke

This website uses cookies. Those have two functions: On the one hand they are providing basic functionality for this website. On the other hand they allow us to improve our content for you by saving and analyzing anonymized user data. You can redraw your consent to using these cookies at any time. Find more information regarding cookies on our Data Protection Declaration and regarding us on the Imprint.


These cookies are needed for a smooth operation of our website.


Name Purpose Lifetime Type Provider
_pk_id Used to store a few details about the user such as the unique visitor ID. 13 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Used to store the attribution information, the referrer initially used to visit the website. 6 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Short lived cookie used to temporarily store data for the visit. 30 minutes HTML Matomo