Ethics Committee of the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg

The ethics committee of the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg deals with questions concerning the possible use of research results for non-peaceful purposes as well as research projects on humans and animals and makes recommendations (ethics reports). The Ethics Committee exclusively reviews applications submitted by employees and students of the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg.

The ethics committee works on the basis of the ethics committee statutes of the BTU (EKS) of 14.04.2016. The treatment of individual research results and research projects takes place upon written request in closed session.


Group of professors

Prof. Dr. med. Björn Brücher (external)
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Carsten Hartmann
Prof. Dr. jur. Marion Bernhardt (deputy chair)
Prof. Dr. Walther Ch. Zimmerli, DPhil h.c. (University of Stellenbosch) (external)


apl. Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Dr. paed. Annette Hoppe
Prof. Dr. med Frank Hufert (external)
Prof. Dr. med. Dr. phil. Kurt Schmailzl (external)
Prof. Dr. habil. Douglas Cunningham
Prof. Dr. jur. Eike Albrecht

Group of Academic Staff

Dr.-Ing. Dipl. Psych. Rico Ganßauge (Chairman)


Dr. rer. medic. Stefan Rödiger
Dr. rer. nat. Marten Klein
Dr. rer. nat. Franziska Müller
Marcus Birkmeier (external)

Group of other employees

Katrin Noack


Dr. rer. nat. Anne-Helen Lutter
Beatrix Krautz

Group of students

Vanessa Scigalla



For more information, please see the BTU's internal commission pages .