Research-oriented
Research-oriented • International Heritage Conservation and Site Management
A sailboat with students from the Heritage Conservation and Site Management master's program in front of a cliff covered with sand
Master of Arts (M.A.)

Description

The Joint Master in Heritage Conservation and Site Management is implemented by the BTU Cottbus–Senftenberg in cooperation with Helwan University in Cairo and with the support of the German Archaeological Institute as well as the Egyptian Ministry of Antiquities.

The programme focusses on transferring knowledge and methodologies required for the administration and management of cultural heritage sites. The offered modules focus on the following topics: strategies and methodologies for heritage conservation, heritage site management, tourism and visitor management. Students also complete two study projects which allows them to gain an insight into the practical application in their future professional life.

Applicants have to decide upon application whether they choose BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg or Helwan University as their home university. An important part of the study programme is a compulsory semester abroad at the partner university. The programme structure is as follows: 1st semester at the home university; 2nd semester at BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg; 3rd semester at Helwan University; 4th semester at the home university.

Professional Fields of Activity

Graduates of the programme will be qualified for a professional career in a broad range of public and private institutions in the fields of heritage conservation, heritage site management and tourism. Graduates also have the option of pursuing an academic career.

Applications and Admissions

Admissions Requirements

Bachelor’s degree in: Archaeology, Tourism, Architecture, Conservation, Art History, or equivalent qualifications.

Proof of English Language Proficiency (TOEFL iBT minimum 80 points; IELTS minimum 6.5; Cambridge Certificate in Advanced English minimum Grade B; Cambridge Certificate of Proficiency in English minimum Grade C).

Apply now
All study programmes

This website uses cookies. Those have two functions: On the one hand they are providing basic functionality for this website. On the other hand they allow us to improve our content for you by saving and analyzing anonymized user data. You can redraw your consent to using these cookies at any time. Find more information regarding cookies on our Data Protection Declaration and regarding us on the Imprint.

Mandatory

These cookies are needed for a smooth operation of our website.

statistic

Name Purpose Lifetime Type Provider
_pk_id Used to store a few details about the user such as the unique visitor ID. 13 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Used to store the attribution information, the referrer initially used to visit the website. 6 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Short lived cookie used to temporarily store data for the visit. 30 minutes HTML Matomo

Universitär
Universitär • International Heritage Conservation and Site Management
Ein Segelboot mit Studierenden im Master Heritage Conservation and Site Management segelt vor einer Sanddüne entlang
Master of Arts (M.A.)

Beschreibung

Der Joint Master Heritage Conservation and Site Management wird von der BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg in Kooperation mit der Helwan University in Kairo und mit Unterstützung des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts sowie dem Ägyptischen Ministerium für Altertümer umgesetzt. 

Das Programm zielt auf die Vermittlung von Kenntnissen und Methoden, die für den Schutz und Verwaltung von Kulturerbestätten nötig sind. Die im Rahmen des Joint Master angebotenen Module beschäftigen sich daher mit den u.a. folgenden Bereichen: Strategien und Arbeitsansätze in der Denkmalpflege, Kulturerbe-Management, Tourismus und Besuchermanagement. Darüber hinaus absolvieren die Studierenden zwei praktische Studienprojekte, die einen Einblick in die praktische Arbeit in dem späteren Berufsleben ermöglichen sollen.

Bewerber müssen sich bereits vor Studienbeginn entscheiden, ob sie die BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg oder die Helwan University als Heimatuniversität wählen. Ein wichtiger Teil des Studiums ist ein verpflichtendes Auslandssemester an der jeweiligen Partnerhochschule. Die Studiumsstruktur stellt sich folgendermaßen dar: 1. Semester an der Heimatuniversität; 2. Semester an der BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg; 3. Semester an der Helwan University; 4. Semester an der Heimatuniversität.

Berufliche Tätigkeitsfelder

Absolventen des Studiengangs sollen für die Arbeit in einem weiten Spektrum von öffentlichen und privaten Institutionen, die in den Bereichen Denkmalpflege, Kulturerbe-Management, und dem Tourismussektor tätig sind, befähigt werden. Selbstverständlich bietet sich Graduierten des Programms auch die Option, eine akademische Karriere einzuschlagen. 

Bewerbung und Zulassung

Zugangsvoraussetzungen

mindestens ein Bachelor-Abschluss in den Fächern Archäologie, Tourismus, Architektur, Geschichte oder diesen äquivalent.

Sprachnachweis für Englisch (TOEFL iBT min. 80 Punkte; IELTS min. 6.5; Cambridge Certificate in Advanced English min. Note B; Cambridge Certificate of Proficiency in English min. Note C or äquivalent).

Jetzt bewerben

Unsere Webseite verwendet Cookies. Diese haben zwei Funktionen: Zum einen sind sie erforderlich für die grundlegende Funktionalität unserer Website. Zum anderen können wir mit Hilfe der Cookies unsere Inhalte für Sie immer weiter verbessern. Hierzu werden pseudonymisierte Daten von Website-Besuchern gesammelt und ausgewertet. Das Einverständnis in die Verwendung der technisch nicht notwendigen Cookies können Sie jeder Zeit wiederrufen. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf unseren Seiten zum Datenschutz.

Erforderlich

Diese Cookies werden für eine reibungslose Funktion unserer Website benötigt.

Statistik

Für den Zweck der Statistik betreiben wir die Plattform Matomo, auf der mittels pseudonymisierter Daten von Websitenutzern der Nutzerfluss analysiert und beurteilt werden kann. Dies gibt uns die Möglichkeit Websiteinhalte zu optimieren.

Name Zweck Ablauf Typ Anbieter
_pk_id Wird verwendet, um ein paar Details über den Benutzer wie die eindeutige Besucher-ID zu speichern. 13 Monate HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Wird benutzt, um die Informationen der Herkunftswebsite des Benutzers zu speichern. 6 Monate HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Kurzzeitiges Cookie, um vorübergehende Daten des Besuchs zu speichern. 30 Minuten HTML Matomo