Organization and structure

On January 01, 2019, the Centre for Continuing Education was established as an institution at BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg in teaching building 10. This consistent next step in the implementation of the legal mandate for the more intensive integration of academic continuing education at the BTU was prepared and discussed throughout the university. The ZWW assumes the tasks of continuing education in the sense of lifelong learning at the interfaces of university and professional practice (cf. Establishment Resolution Art. I Para. 1).

Organization and tasks

As a central scientific institution, the ZWW has an intensive research and development component. It works in close coordination and cooperation with the university bodies, faculties, institutes, external cultural and social partners and is accompanied by a scientific advisory board.

Research and development work
  • Ensuring accompanying research and participation in scientific discourse
  • Testing and implementation of new, also digitally supported teaching and learning scenarios
  • Submitting or participating in research proposals
  • Local, regional and international collaboration and networking with stakeholders in various formats such as collegial exchanges. Conferences or meetings
Fields of action and service areas
  • Providing administrative support to the chairs of the BTU in the design and program management of extra-occupational or continuing education study programmes and certificate programmes, trainings and modular training courses.
  • Design and management of continuing education programs offered by the ZWW according to need and demand
  • Raising third-party funds to ensure quality, organization, development of new offerings
Scientific advisory board

According to the establishment resolution, point II Structure (5), the ZWW is advised by a scientific advisory board on fundamental and higher education policy issues in the area of continuing education, on program strategy and development. Professors from all BTU faculties and colleagues from relevant institutions of the BTU as well as multipliers from the economy and from the Ministry of Economy, Labor and Energy of the State of Brandenburg as well as external experts from science could be won for a profitable composition of the advisory board, which was appointed by the Senate of the BTU on September 10, 2020 for a period of four years.

The advisory board members will meet at least once a year. Further cooperation will also be coordinated via the Moodle platform .

Advisory Board members
1BTUVice-President for Academic AffairsProf. Dr. habil.PeerSchmidt
2BTUChancellor of the BTUAlfredFunk
3BTUHead of VB PersonnelAlexanderBobusch
4BTUHead of the IKMZDr. phil.ClaudiaBörner
5BTUFaculty 1, Cyber SecurityProf. Dr.-Ing.AndriyPanchenko
6BTUFaculty 2, Molecular Cell BiologyProf. Dr. rer. nat. habil.Jan-HeinerKüpper
7BTUFaculty 3, Factory Planning and OperationProf. Dr.-Ing.PeggyNäser
8BTUFaculty 4, Special and Remedial Education, Focus on Professional Integration and Human Resource DevelopmentProf. Dr.MarinaNey
9BTUFaculty 5, ABWL, in particular Planning, Innovation and Start-upProf. Dr. rer. pol. habil.MagdalenaMißler-Behr
10BTUFaculty 6, Structural Analysis and DynamicsProf. Dr.-Ing.WolfgangDornisch
11BTUFaculty of Health, Co-optedProf. Dr. rer. nat. habil.Jan-HeinerProf. Küpper
12MWAEHead of Department 5
Labor, Skilled Workers, European Structural Funds
13WFBBProject Manager
Team WFBB Labor - Skilled Workers & Qualification
Division Labor, Energy, Start-up & Internationalization
14Macromedia UniversityProfessorship Media Management Member of the DGWF regional group Berlin BrandenburgProf. Dr.AnnetteOstrich
15UNISSDAAD Visiting Professorship SRH University of Applied Sciences Berlin
Titular Professor at the University of Sancti Spíritus Cuba
Prof. Tit. Dr. C. Ing.OsvaldoRomero