Faculty Council

The Faculty Council is composed of elected members from the group of university professors, representatives of the students, the academic mid-level staff and the technical staff.


Prof. Friedrich Lenk is the chairman of the Faculty Council.

Tasks and powers of the Faculty Council

  1. Election of dean and associate dean.
  2. supervises the dean with regard to the fulfillment of his or her duties. In particular, it discusses the Dean's statement of accounts and decides on his or her discharge
  3. The departmental council is responsible for:
    • the enactment of bylaws of the department,
    • deciding on the structural and developmental planning of the department,
    • the decision on appointment proposals
    • the decision on habilitations
    • participation in the evaluation and coordination of teaching and research in the department.