The curriculum of the Joint Master in Heritage Conservation and Site Management has been developed by professors and associated experts from both BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg and Helwan University, in cooperation with the German Archaeological Institute.

Students are required to complete five mandatory modules on key subjects in order to establish the basic knowledge and understanding necessary to successfully complete the graduate programme:

  • Heritage Conservation,
  • Principles of Tourism and Visitor Management,
  • Archaeology,
  • Introduction to Heritage Site Management and
  • Academic Work and Research Methodology.

In addition to the mandatory modules, students are also required to choose at least six compulsory-elective modules depending on their academic and professional interests. The graphic "Table of the Modules offered in Heritage Conservation and Site Management" presents a list of these modules and the respective semester in which they are offered.

The completion of two study projects allows students to apply the knowledge they have gained during the mandatory and the compulsory-elective modules. These projects are fundamental for the completion of the programme and many of them offer the chance to participate in excursions and site visits.

The last semester is dedicated to the development and writing of the master thesis.


Part of the curriculum of Heritage Conservation and Site Management is a mandatory exchange semester at the respective partner university. This great feature of our programme allows both for the experience of living abroad and the continuation of your academic qualifications. How does this work?

With their application, each applicant chooses either Helwan University or BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg as their home university. The first semester will then be taught separately at the respective home university. During the second semester, all students will be taught at BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg and afterwards travel to Cairo to spend the third semester at Helwan University. Students will then conclude their master with the fourth semester again at their respective home university.

First Semester:Home University (BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg or Hewlan University)
Second Semester:Joint Semester at BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg
Thrid Semester:Joint Semester at Hewlan University
Fourth Semester:Master Thesis at the Home University

This website uses cookies. Those have two functions: On the one hand they are providing basic functionality for this website. On the other hand they allow us to improve our content for you by saving and analyzing anonymized user data. You can redraw your consent to using these cookies at any time. Find more information regarding cookies on our Data Protection Declaration and regarding us on the Imprint.


These cookies are needed for a smooth operation of our website.


Name Purpose Lifetime Type Provider
_pk_id Used to store a few details about the user such as the unique visitor ID. 13 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Used to store the attribution information, the referrer initially used to visit the website. 6 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Short lived cookie used to temporarily store data for the visit. 30 minutes HTML Matomo