Programme Structure

Participants in the Master Program study the first term at the BTU Cottbus - Senftenberg, the second term at the Cairo University and the third term at the Alexandria University. During the fourth term which is reserved for the master thesis, students can choose at which university to stay based on their choice of topic and the supervisors. 

With successful completion of the Master Programme, the participants are awarded with the Dual Degree Master of Science from two of the partner universities. The affiliation of the two supervisors for the master thesis upon the choice of the students finally determines which universities award the degrees.


The curriculum is project based and has three main scientific components:

Urban Design and Rehabilitation  |  Urban Development  |  Architecture in Historic Context 

Each term consists of a project and three theoretical and research-oriented modules. An introduction to methods and standards of scientific research is further integrated in the mandatory research module in the first term.

All modules are taught in English.