Institutes and Chairs

Institute of Biotechnology

Chair ofConduct
BiochemistryProf. Dr. Ralf Stohwasser
Bioinformatics and Biostatistics N. N.
Cell BiologyProf. Dr. Ursula Anderer
Cellular Bioprocess Engineering N. N.
Enzyme Technology Prof. Dr. Katrin Scheibner
Eukaryotic Microorganisms N. N.
Molecular BiologyProf. Dr. Christian Schröder
Molecular Cell BiologyProf. Dr. Jan-Heiner Küpper
Multiparameter DiagnosticsProf. Dr. Peter Schierack
Nanobiotechnology Prof. Dr. Vladimir Mirsky
Synthetic MicrobiologyProf. Dr. Fabian M. Commichau
Technical Microbiology Prof. Dr. Klaus-Peter Stahmann
Field of studyConduct
Cell biological Methods Dr. rer. nat. Barbara Hansen
Molecular Diagnostics and Quality Management Honorarprof. Dr. rer. nat. Dirk Roggenbuck

Institute of Environmental and Process Technology

Chair ofConduct
Bioenergy technology N. N.
Biotechnology of water treatment Prof. Dr. Marion Martienssen
Electrochemical Technologies N. N.
Water Technology and Urban Hydraulic Engineering Vertretungsprof. Dr. Konrad Thürmer
Field of studyConduct
Aufbereitungstechnik und Bioenergie Kommissarische Leitung Frau Prof. Martienssen
Bio-refinery technology Honorarprof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Birgit Kamm
Structural recycling apl. Prof. Dr. Angelika Mettke

Institute of Environmental Sciences

Chair ofConduct
Atmospheric processesProf. Dr. Katja Trachte
EcologyProf. Dr. Klaus Birkhofer
Economics, in particular environmental economicsProf. Dr. Frank Wätzold
Environmental geology Kommissarischer Leiter Prof. Dr. Michael Schmidt
Environmental planningProf. Dr. Michael Schmidt
Freshwater ConservationProf. Dr. Brigitte Nixdorf
Geopedology and landscape developmentProf. Dr. Thomas Raab
Hydrology Prof. Dr. Christoph Hinz
Raw material and resource management Prof. Dr. Rainer Herd
Social science environmental issuesKommissarischer Leiter Prof. Dr. Michael Schmidt
Soil protection and recultivationProf. Dr. Reinhard Hüttl
Field of studyConduct
Air chemistry and air pollution controlProf. Dr. Detlev Möller
Ecological-economic Modelling Honorarprof. Dr. Dr. Martin Drechsler
Hydrological system analysis Honorarprof. Dr. rer. nat. Frank Wendland

Institute of Materials Chemistry

Chair ofConduct
Chemical process modelling Prof. Dr. Matthias Suckow
Inorganic ChemistryProf. Dr. Peer Schmidt
Materials Chemistry N. N.
Natural products chemistry Prof. Dr. Katrin Salchert
Organic and pharmaceutical chemistry Prof. Dr. Alexander Kaiser
Physical chemistry Prof. Dr. Jörg Acker
Technical chemistryProf. Dr. Olaf Klepel
Thermodynamics Prof. Dr. Ingolf Petrick
Field of studyConduct
Physical Chemistry II apl. Prof. Dr. Reiner Schmid
Polymer Materials apl. Prof. Dr. Siegfried Vieth

This website uses cookies. There are two types of cookies: The first type supports the basic functionality of our website. The second allows us to improve our content for you by saving and analyzing pseudonymised user data. Since this second type is technically not required to run the website, you can withdraw your consent to those cookies at any time. For more information please visit our pages on data protection.


These cookies are needed for a smooth operation of our website.


For statistical reasons, we use the platform Matomo to analyse the user flow with the help of website users‘ pseudonymised data. This allows us to optimize website content.

Name Purpose Lifetime Type Provider
_pk_id Used to store a few details about the user such as the unique visitor ID. 13 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Used to store the attribution information, the referrer initially used to visit the website. 6 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Short lived cookie used to temporarily store data for the visit. 30 minutes HTML Matomo