Research-oriented
Research-oriented • International Power Engineering
Grüne Wiese mit Stromtrassen, Windkraftanlagen und Kohlekraftwerk im Hintergrund
Master of Science (M.Sc.)

Description

The international master’s programme Power Engineering aims to convey knowledge of sustainable energy supply in the European context. The main focus of teaching centres on the concept of safe, affordable and environmentally friendly energy generation as one of the most urgent global challenges of the 21st century. The programme cooperates closely with regional and national energy providers in order to ensure practically oriented training, which should enable students to conduct independent and applied research. The programme covers the entire spectrum of energy research in the field of traditional as well as renewable energies and is highly industry-oriented, with about one third of all lectures and seminars being given by lecturers from industry.

Within the programme Power Engineering we offer two different branches of study:

  • Electrical Power Engineering
  • Power Generation from Fossil and Renewable Fuels

Professional Fields of Activity

  • Academic and industrial research and development;
  • Design, manufacture and sales of technical products in the power industry and supply utilities field as well as in the fields of power generation, transmission, distribution and application.
  • Planning and development work in alternative uses of energy resources

Applications and Admissions

Admissions Requirements

  • Bachelor of Science in Power Engineering (electrical or thermal) or related engineering fields (or equivalent).
  • Very good knowledge in basic areas of Mathematics, Physics, Computer Science, Basics in Electrical or Mechanical Engineering, as well as to subject-specific knowledge in the areas of Electrical or Thermal Power Engineering.
  • Very good knowledge in
    • Electrical Power Engineering, Electrical Machines, Drive Systems, Power Electronics, High Voltage Engineering, Grid Calculation – in case a student wants to specialize in "Electrical Power Engineering"
      or
    • Thermodynamics, Thermal Power Engineering, Power Plant Technology, Heat Transfer, Renewable Energies – in case a student wants to specialize in "Power Generation from Fossil and Renewable Fuels".
  • Certificate of proficiency in English as described in the language requirements. (Only valid certificates are recognised, we don't accept "medium of instruction certificates" and any kind of expired tests.)
Apply now
All study programmes

This website uses cookies. There are two types of cookies: The first type supports the basic functionality of our website. The second allows us to improve our content for you by saving and analyzing pseudonymised user data. Since this second type is technically not required to run the website, you can withdraw your consent to those cookies at any time. For more information please visit our pages on data protection.

Mandatory

These cookies are needed for a smooth operation of our website.

Statistic

For statistical reasons, we use the platform Matomo to analyse the user flow with the help of website users‘ pseudonymised data. This allows us to optimize website content.

Name Purpose Lifetime Type Provider
_pk_id Used to store a few details about the user such as the unique visitor ID. 13 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Used to store the attribution information, the referrer initially used to visit the website. 6 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Short lived cookie used to temporarily store data for the visit. 30 minutes HTML Matomo

Universitär
Universitär • International Power Engineering
Master of Science (M.Sc.)

Beschreibung

Der internationale Master-Studiengang Power Engineering hat zum Ziel, Wissen über die nachhaltige Energieversorgung im europäischen Kontext zu vermitteln. Den Schwerpunkt des Studiums bildet das Konzept der sicheren, preiswerten und umweltfreundlichen Energieerzeugung als eine der dringendsten globalen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Der Studiengang arbeitet eng mit regionalen und nationalen Energieversorgern zusammen, um eine auch praktisch ausgerichtete Ausbildung zu gewährleisten, die Studierenden ermöglichen soll, selbständige und angewandte Forschungsarbeiten durchzuführen. Das Programm umfasst das gesamte Spektrum der Energieforschung im Bereich traditioneller sowie erneuerbarer Energien und hat eine industrielle Orientierung. Ein Teil der Vorlesungen und Seminare werden von Dozenten aus der Praxis gehalten.

Innerhalb des internationalen Master-Studiengangs Power Engineering gibt es zwei Studienrichtungen, zwischen denen die Studierenden zu wählen haben:

  • Electrical Power Engineering
  • Power Generation from Fossil and Renewable Fuels

Berufliche Tätigkeitsfelder

  • Akademische und industrielle Forschung und Entwicklung
  • Planung, Fertigung und Verkauf von technischen Produkten in der Energieindustrie und im Bereich der Energieversorgungsunternehmen sowie in den Bereichen der Energieerzeugung, Übertragung, Verteilung und Anwendung
  • Planungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit für alternative Verwendungen von Energieressourcen

Bewerbung und Zulassung

Zugangsvoraussetzungen

  • Bachelor of Science in Elektrischer oder Thermischer Energietechnik oder verwandten technischen Bereichen (oder gleichwertige Abschlüsse).
  • Sehr gute Kenntnisse in grundlegenden Bereichen der Mathematik, Physik, Computerwissenschaft, Grundlagen der Elektrotechnik oder des Maschinenbaus, sowie fachspezifisches Wissen in den Bereichen von Elektro- oder Wärmeenergietechnik.
  • Sehr gute Kenntnisse auf den Gebieten
    • elektrische Energiesysteme, elektrische Maschinen, Antriebssysteme, Leistungselektronik, Hochspannungstechnik, Netzberechnung – für die Spezialisierung „Electrical Power Engineering“
      oder
    • Thermodynamik, Wärmeenergietechnik, Kraftwerkstechnik, Wärmeübertragung, erneuerbare Energien – für die Spezialisierung „Power Generation from Fossil and Renewable Fuels“.
  • Englischer Sprachnachweis gemäß den Hinweisen zu den Sprachanforderungen. (Es werden nur gültige Bescheinigungen anerkannt. „Medium of instruction“-Bescheinigungen und abgelaufenen Tests können nicht akzeptiert werden.)
Jetzt bewerben

Unsere Webseite verwendet Cookies. Diese haben zwei Funktionen: Zum einen sind sie erforderlich für die grundlegende Funktionalität unserer Website. Zum anderen können wir mit Hilfe der Cookies unsere Inhalte für Sie immer weiter verbessern. Hierzu werden pseudonymisierte Daten von Website-Besuchern gesammelt und ausgewertet. Das Einverständnis in die Verwendung der technisch nicht notwendigen Cookies können Sie jeder Zeit wiederrufen. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf unseren Seiten zum Datenschutz.

Erforderlich

Diese Cookies werden für eine reibungslose Funktion unserer Website benötigt.

Statistik

Für den Zweck der Statistik betreiben wir die Plattform Matomo, auf der mittels pseudonymisierter Daten von Websitenutzern der Nutzerfluss analysiert und beurteilt werden kann. Dies gibt uns die Möglichkeit Websiteinhalte zu optimieren.

Name Zweck Ablauf Typ Anbieter
_pk_id Wird verwendet, um ein paar Details über den Benutzer wie die eindeutige Besucher-ID zu speichern. 13 Monate HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Wird benutzt, um die Informationen der Herkunftswebsite des Benutzers zu speichern. 6 Monate HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Kurzzeitiges Cookie, um vorübergehende Daten des Besuchs zu speichern. 30 Minuten HTML Matomo