DAAD Award for outstanding achievement by a foreign student at a German university

The international students of our university enrich the university community in cultural, as well as academic regard.

In order to acknowledge this, each year the DAAD Award is awarded to international students who complete their studies in Germany and who distinguish themselves with specially high academic achievement and social or intercultural engagement.

Since 1995 the Brandenburg Technical University of Cottbus-Senftenberg has imparted the DAAD financial award at the annual opening ceremony of the academic year. Mr. Nabil Abo Nasser was awarded with the DAAD Award 2020.

Award recipients from previous years

2020 – Nabil Abo Nasser (Syria)
2019 – Daniel Edward Huck (USA)
2018 – Collins Izuchukwu Igboji (Nigeria)
2017 – Aleksandra Aftowicz  (Poland)
2016 – Nicole Franceschini (Italy)
2015 – Ezeamama Anayo Azubuike (Nigeria)
2014 – Li Chen (China)
2013 – Hakam Kondakji (Syria)
2012 – Dr. Andreza da Rocha (Brasil)
2011 – Ahmed Elnaggar (Egypt)
2010 – Armin Zayani (Tunesia)
2009 – Karolina Lisiecka (Poland)
2008 – Ernestine Tangang (Kameroon)
2007 – Kate Eleanor Pierce-Mc Manamon (USA)

2006 – Sevil Yesim Dizdaroglu (Turkey)
2005 – Shuang Yang (China)
2004 – Beata Tatarczyk (Poland)
2003 – Nataliya Turchyna (Ukraine)
2002 – Dagmara Kaczmarczyk (Poland)
2001 – Fleur Hutchings (Australia)
2000 – Marcin Mroz (Poland)
1999 – Mourad Zouad (Marocco)
1998 – Marc Martinez (Spain)
1997 – Jinsheng Feng (China)
1996 – Petar Bozic (Croatia)
1995 – Aladin Naser (Syria)

Award recipients of former Lausitz University of Applied Sciences

2013 – Ghazaleh Sadoughian (Iran)
2012 – Stephen Bwete (Uganda)
2011 – Giordano Bruno de Moraes do Nascimento (Brasil)
2010 – Andriy Lesunenko (Ukraine)
2009 – Mhd. Mohanad Huda Al Barazi (Syria)
2008 – Sophie Andrey (Switzerland)
2007 – Ardahan Akdemir (Turkey)
2006 – Jianbo Bai (China)
2005 – Vikrant Maruti Agawane (India)

This website uses cookies. Those have two functions: On the one hand they are providing basic functionality for this website. On the other hand they allow us to improve our content for you by saving and analyzing anonymized user data. You can redraw your consent to using these cookies at any time. Find more information regarding cookies on our Data Protection Declaration and regarding us on the Imprint.


These cookies are needed for a smooth operation of our website.


Name Purpose Lifetime Type Provider
_pk_id Used to store a few details about the user such as the unique visitor ID. 13 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Used to store the attribution information, the referrer initially used to visit the website. 6 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Short lived cookie used to temporarily store data for the visit. 30 minutes HTML Matomo