Research-oriented
Research-oriented • International World Heritage Studies
Students of the Masters World Heritag Studies in front of the Staatstheater in Cottbus
Master of Arts (M.A.)

Description

The international Master’s programme World Heritage Studies provides the practical skills and theoretical knowledge needed to identify, protect, manage and present cultural and natural heritage sites. Students are encouraged to reflect upon how heritage is understood and how it functions in societies all around the world. The programme combines theory and practice in a cross-sectorial way, incorporating various academic disciplines such as the humanities, architecture, conservation, ecology, management, tourism, marketing and beyond. It thus emphasizes the link between culture and nature, tangible and intangible heritage values, conservation and sustainable development.

Established in 1999, the WHS programme at BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg is the first programme in the world to design its curriculum around the UNESCO Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage. The programme recognizes that heritage can and should be protected from a wide range of perspectives and in a contemporary context. To this end, the programme prioritizes critical reflection on present-day issues such as changing demographics, environmental fragility, and economic inequalities. Students will develop the skills and knowledge needed to successfully work in professional heritage fields, furthermore working to define and re-contextualize heritage for future generations.

Offering a choice of three different study options - WHS On-Campus, the Dual Degree and WHS Online* - the WHS programme meets the ongoing demand for interculturally and internationally trained experts in the field of cultural and natural (world) heritage. For over 20 years, the original WHS On-Campus has been providing students with a prestigious education centred around the World Heritage Convention. WHS On-Campus is a full-time programme taught in Cottbus, Germany. In 2014, the Dual Degree was initiated in cooperation with Deakin University in Australia. The top five students accepted in WHS On-Campus are offered the chance to study one semester in Melbourne and to receive a double degree from two renowned universities in the field of heritage studies. Newly established in 2021, WHS Online is designed for students who seek a high quality education in heritage, but who have responsibilities in their jobs or private lives that prevent them from moving to Cottbus/Germany. Employing state of the art online education methods, WHS Online offers flexible, largely self-paced learning.

Professional Fields of Activity

Our graduates work in a wide spectrum of professional fields, including: UNESCO offices and national commissions, heritage site management, heritage organisations in the public and private sectors, consultancy firms, tourism operators, museums, universities, and other heritage related institutions. The inspiration, curiosity, professionalism and networks gained through this programme allow each student to personalize their relationship to World Heritage, thus bringing a unique and qualified perspective to the field.

Applications and Admissions

Admissions Requirements

  • Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) degree or equivalent in Cultural Sciences or other study areas relevant to the World Heritage Studies curriculum (Humanities, Social Sciences, Architecture, Archaeology, Art History, Conservation, Environmental Sciences, Geography, Cultural Management or Tourism);
  • English language proficiency demonstrated in one of the following ways: TOEFL internet-based with a score of 79 points or higher; IELTS Academic with an overall band score of 6.5 or higher; Cambridge Certificate in Advanced English with grade B or higher; Cambridge Certificate of Proficiency in English with grade B or higher.
Apply now
All study programmes

This website uses cookies. Those have two functions: On the one hand they are providing basic functionality for this website. On the other hand they allow us to improve our content for you by saving and analyzing anonymized user data. You can redraw your consent to using these cookies at any time. Find more information regarding cookies on our Data Protection Declaration and regarding us on the Imprint.

Mandatory

These cookies are needed for a smooth operation of our website.

statistic

Name Purpose Lifetime Type Provider
_pk_id Used to store a few details about the user such as the unique visitor ID. 13 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Used to store the attribution information, the referrer initially used to visit the website. 6 months HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Short lived cookie used to temporarily store data for the visit. 30 minutes HTML Matomo

Universitär
Universitär • International World Heritage Studies
Studierende des Masters World Heritag Studies vor dem Staatstheater in Cottbus
Master of Arts (M.A.)

Beschreibung

Der internationale Master World Heritage Studies vermittelt die praktischen Fähigkeiten und das theoretische Wissen um Kultur- und Naturerbestätten zu identifizieren, zu schützen, zu verwalten und zu präsentieren. Die Studierenden werden ermutigt zu hinterfragen, wie das Konzept Welterbe verstanden wird und wie es auf der ganzen Welt funktioniert. Das Programm verbindet Theorie und Praxis unter Einbeziehung verschiedener akademischer Disziplinen wie Geisteswissenschaften, Architektur, Ökologie, Management, Tourismus, Marketing und weiteren. Es betont damit den Zusammenhang zwischen Kultur und Natur, materiellem und immateriellem Kulturerbe, sowie Erhaltung und nachhaltiger Entwicklung.

Das 1999 gegründete WHS Programm an der BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg ist das erste Programm der Welt, das seinen Lehrplan basierend auf dem UNESCO Übereinkommen zum Schutz des Kultur- und Naturerbes der Welt konzipiert hat. Das Programm erkennt an, dass das Erbe aus einer Vielzahl von Perspektiven und im zeitgenössischen Kontext geschützt werden kann und sollte. Zu diesem Zweck legt das Programm den Schwerpunkt auf die kritische Betrachtung aktueller Herausforderungen, wie demografischen Veränderungen, ökologischer Fragilität und wirtschaftlichen Ungleichheiten. Die Studierenden entwickeln die Fähigkeiten, die sie für erfolgreiche Arbeit in professionellen Kultur- und Naturerbekontexten benötigen umso die Definition und Rekontextualisierung des Konzept Welterbes weiter voranzutreiben.

Mit drei verschiedenen Studienoptionen – WHS On-Campus, Doppelabschlussprogramm und WHS Online* – erfüllt das WHS Programm die anhaltende Nachfrage nach interkulturell und international ausgebildeten Experten im Bereich des kulturellen und natürlichen (Welt-) Erbes. Seit über 20 Jahren bietet das Original, WHS On-Campus, Studierenden eine renommierte Ausbildung rund um die Welterbekonvention. WHS On-Campus ist ein Vollzeitprogramm, das in Cottbus, Deutschland gelehrt wird. In 2014 wurde das Doppelabschlussprogramm in Kooperation mit Deakin University in Australien initiiert. Die fünf besten WHS On-Campus Studierenden erhalten die Chance ein Semester in Melbourne zu studieren und einen Doppelabschluss von zwei im Bereich der Kulturerbestudien hoch angesehenen Universitäten zu erhalten. 2021 neu eingeführt richtet sich WHS Online an Studierende, die eine hochwertige Ausbildung im Welterbe anstreben, aber aufgrund von Verpflichtungen im Beruf oder im Privatleben nicht nach Cottbus/Deutschland ziehen können. Mithilfe moderner online Lehrmethoden bietet WHS Online flexibles, weitgehend selbstbestimmtes Lernen.

Berufliche Tätigkeitsfelder

Unsere Absolvent*innen arbeiten in einem breiten Spektrum von Berufsfeldern, darunter: UNESCO-Büros und nationale Kommissionen, Management von Kulturerbestätten, Kulturerbeorganisationen im öffentlichen und privaten Sektor, Beratungsunternehmen, Tourismusunternehmen, Museen, Universitäten und andere Institutionen, die im Bezug zu Kultur- und Naturerbe stehen. Die Inspiration, Neugierde, Professionalität und die Netzwerke, die durch dieses Programm gewonnen wurden, ermöglichen es jeder/m Studierenden ihre Beziehung zum Welterbe zu personalisieren und so eine einzigartige, qualifizierte Perspektive in ihre Arbeit einzubringen.

Bewerbung und Zulassung

Zugangsvoraussetzungen

  • Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) Abschluss oder äquivalent in Kulturwissenschaften oder anderen Studienbereichen, die in sinnvollem Zusammenhang mit dem World Heritage Studies Curriculum stehen (z. B. Geisteswissenschaften, Sozialwissenschaften, Architektur, Archäologie, Kunstgeschichte, Denkmalpflege, Umweltwissenschaften, Geografie, Kulturmanagement oder Tourismus);
  • Ausreichende Englischkenntnisse müssen mit einem der folgenden Tests nachgewiesen werden: TOEFL internet based mit einer Punktzahl von 79 Punkten oder höher, IELTS Academic mit einer Gesamtpunktzahl von 6.5 oder höher, Cambridge Certificate in Advanced English mit der Note B oder besser, Cambridge Certificate of Proficiency in English mit der Note B oder besser.
Jetzt bewerben
Alle Studiengänge

Unsere Webseite verwendet Cookies. Diese haben zwei Funktionen: Zum einen sind sie erforderlich für die grundlegende Funktionalität unserer Website. Zum anderen können wir mit Hilfe der Cookies unsere Inhalte für Sie immer weiter verbessern. Hierzu werden pseudonymisierte Daten von Website-Besuchern gesammelt und ausgewertet. Das Einverständnis in die Verwendung der technisch nicht notwendigen Cookies können Sie jeder Zeit wiederrufen. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf unseren Seiten zum Datenschutz.

Erforderlich

Diese Cookies werden für eine reibungslose Funktion unserer Website benötigt.

Statistik

Für den Zweck der Statistik betreiben wir die Plattform Matomo, auf der mittels pseudonymisierter Daten von Websitenutzern der Nutzerfluss analysiert und beurteilt werden kann. Dies gibt uns die Möglichkeit Websiteinhalte zu optimieren.

Name Zweck Ablauf Typ Anbieter
_pk_id Wird verwendet, um ein paar Details über den Benutzer wie die eindeutige Besucher-ID zu speichern. 13 Monate HTML Matomo
_pk_ref Wird benutzt, um die Informationen der Herkunftswebsite des Benutzers zu speichern. 6 Monate HTML Matomo
_pk_ses Kurzzeitiges Cookie, um vorübergehende Daten des Besuchs zu speichern. 30 Minuten HTML Matomo