Research-oriented
Research-oriented Artificial Intelligence
Ein Studierender und eine Studierende sitzen am Tisch an ihren Laptops, im Hintergrund ein beschriebenes Whiteboard
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)

Description

From autonomous driving to facial recognition to the metaverse - artificial intelligence (AI) is already found in many areas and is increasingly changing the economy and our everyday lives. If you are interested in the algorithms and processes behind current and future applications of AI, the Artificial Intelligence B.Sc. at BTU program is just right for you. The degree program ideally prepares you to actively participate in this fascinating development.

You will learn how current knowledge and modern methods from computer science, psychology, and mathematics are used together to develop AI methods. Such methods are, for example, neural networks, machine learning, machine vision, knowledge representation, or language interpretation. In particular, the degree program focuses on methods inspired by natural intelligence. The application areas for AI are enormously diverse: robotics, cyber security, Big Data, medicine, and even the intelligent control of technical systems such as power plants. You will also be enabled to independently familiarize yourself with diverse applications and to cope with the constantly changing tasks in professional practice. In addition, you will learn to assess and critically question the limits and effects of the application of AI to socially relevant problems.

An increasing number of companies and research institutions are securing their future development by becoming active in the field of AI. Therefore, specialists with in-depth knowledge are in high demand – locally (in Lusatia) and worldwide. Many partners of the BTU, including the Lausitz Center for Artificial Intelligence (LZKI), the Leibniz Institute for High Performance Microelectronics (IHP), the German Aerospace Center (DLR), Fraunhofer Institutes, and Rolls Royce offer opportunities to work on research projects while you are still studying.

If you are more interested in realizing and further developing complex hardware- or software-based AI systems, then we recommend the bachelor's program Artificial Intelligence Engineering.

Professional Fields of Activity

  • Data Science
  • Mathematical data analysis
  • Medical data analysis
  • Development of algorithms and methods of artificial intelligence, e.g. machine learning
  • Mathematical and scientific treatment of questions concerning artificial intelligence
  • Autonomous driving and assistance systems
  • Intelligent control systems, e.g. supply chains or energy and environmental sectors

Further postgraduate opportunities

Applications and Admissions

Admissions Requirements

  • General higher education entrance qualification (Abitur) or
  • Vocational higher education entrance qualification (Fachabitur)
Apply now
All study programmes

Universitär
Universitär Künstliche Intelligenz
Ein Studierender und eine Studierende sitzen am Tisch an ihren Laptops, im Hintergrund ein beschriebenes Whiteboard
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)

Beschreibung

Autonomes Fahren, Gesichtserkennung bis hin zum Metaversum - künstliche Intelligenz (KI) findet sich bereits in vielen Lebensbereichen wieder und verändert die Wirtschaft und unseren Alltag zunehmend. Wenn du dich dafür interessierst, welche Algorithmen und Verfahren hinter den aktuellen und zukünftigen Anwendungen von KI stehen, ist der Studiengang Künstliche Intelligenz B.Sc. genau das richtige für dich. Das Studium bereitet dich ideal darauf vor, an dieser faszinierenden Entwicklung aktiv mitzuwirken.

Du wirst erfahren, wie aktuelles Wissen und moderne Methoden aus der Informatik, der Psychologie und der Mathematik gemeinsam eingesetzt werden, um Verfahren der KI zu entwickeln. Solche Verfahren sind zum Beispiel neuronale Netze, maschinelles Lernen, maschinelles Sehen, Wissensrepräsentation oder Sprachinterpretation. Im Mittelpunkt des Studiums stehen insbesondere Verfahren, die durch natürliche Intelligenz inspiriert sind. Die Anwendungsbereiche für KI sind enorm vielfältig: Robotik, Cyber Security, Big Data und Medizin bis hin zur intelligenten Steuerung von technischen Systemen wie Kraftwerken. Du wirst außerdem befähigt, dich in diverse Aufgabengebiete selbständig einzuarbeiten und die in der Berufspraxis ständig wechselnden Aufgabenstellungen zu bewältigen.

Darüber hinaus lernst du die Grenzen und Auswirkungen der Anwendung von KI auf gesellschaftsrelevante Probleme einzuschätzen und kritisch zu hinterfragen.

Zur zukunftssicheren Entwicklung werden immer mehr Firmen und Forschungseinrichtungen auf dem Gebiet der KI aktiv. Daher sind Fachkräfte mit fundierten Kenntnissen sehr gefragt – in der Lausitz und weltweit. Viele Partner der BTU, darunter das Lausitzer Zentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (LZKI), das Leibniz Institute for High Performance Microelectronics (IHP), das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), Fraunhofer-Institute und Rolls Royce bieten Möglichkeiten, bereits während des Studiums an Forschungsprojekten mitzuarbeiten.

Wenn Du dich eher dafür interessierst, komplexe Hard- bzw. Software-basierte Systeme der KI zu realisieren und weiter zu entwickeln, dann empfehlen wir dir den Bachelorstudiengang Künstliche Intelligenz Technologie.

Berufliche Tätigkeitsfelder

  • Data Science
  • Mathematische Datenanalyse
  • Medizinische Datenanalyse
  • Entwicklung von Algorithmen und Verfahren der Künstlichen Intelligenz, bspw. maschinelles Lernen
  • Mathematische und naturwissenschaftliche Bearbeitung von Fragestellungen zur Künstlichen Intelligenz
  • Autonomes Fahren und Assistenzsysteme
  • Intelligente Steuerungen, beispielsweise Lieferketten oder Energie- und Umweltbranche

Mögliche Masterstudiengänge

Bewerbung und Zulassung

Zugangsvoraussetzungen

  • Allgemeine Hochschulreife (Abitur)
  • Fachhochschulreife (Fachabitur)
Jetzt bewerben
Alle Studiengänge